infoBets: Free Betting Daily Tips, Bet Advice, Soccer Predictions, Dropping Odds, Statistics Table, Football Live Centre, Fastest Livescore, Live TV, Soccer highlights...
content top
Main » 2013 » May » 21 » Retiring Ferguson overwhelmed by recognition

Retiring Ferguson overwhelmed by recognition

premier league
Alex Ferguson was 'overwhelmed' after receiving the League Managers' Association Manager of the Year award on Monday.
The Scot, who has now landed the award a record-breaking four times, announced his retirement from Manchester United after 26 years and 1500 games at the club, winning his 13th league title this season with victory over Aston Villa in April.

After another successful season at the club Ferguson was given the honour by the LMA members, including all managers from the top four leagues in English football.

Ferguson's previous awards came after league triumphs in 1998-99, 2007-08 and 2010-11, and this fourth honour moves him ahead of David Moyes, his replacement at United, who has won it three times.

"It has been overwhelming," Ferguson said. "The club has been fantastic and congratulations to West Brom with the way they handled yesterday (Sunday).

"In a way I am glad it is all over now - because it has been hard work!

"I think (West Brom manager) Steve Clarke should get an award because anyone who scores five against United deserves it."

The 71-year-old was praised by LMA chairman Howard Wilkinson for his achievement and contribution to British football, with the former Leeds United boss also hailing Ferguson's replacement at Old Trafford.

"There is no doubt that the LMA Annual Awards are perceived as the most accurate measure of a manager's ability because there are no better judges of your performance than your peers," Wilkinson said.

"Finding words to adequately describe the monumental levels of achievement and the indelible legacy Sir Alex Ferguson leaves in the game, is nigh on impossible. 

"This evening's award adds yet another record to that list, making him the only person to secure the much-coveted LMA Manager of the Year Award for a fourth time.

"David Moyes, his choice of successor to the Old Trafford throne, has won it three times and I know that Sir Alex will hope and believe that David goes on to equal and surpass the new record."
Views: 504


content top